Forever Learning

Forever learning and helping machines do the same.

A New Kind Of Science?

with one comment

I am no longer a Corporate Ninja. As of a few weeks ago I can now call myself “Data Scientist at Booking.com“.

Although I am really excited about the new challenges and opportunities that await me in the sexiest job of the 21st century, I must say this new title bothers me ever so slightly. It somehow seems so redundant.

If you’re not using data, is it really science?

Written by Lukas Vermeer

May 2, 2013 at 17:20

Posted in Meta

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hmm. The reverse is not sufficient to conclude it is science. For me, science is about observation, hypothesis, experiment, more observation, in a rigorous manner, followed by lots of scientist social interactions. You decide.

    Hey, congrats with the new vocation! Now we have even more to talk about for our barbeq appointment this summer.

    Willem Jager

    May 2, 2013 at 22:50


Leave a Reply

