Forever Learning

Forever learning and helping machines do the same.

Picture Imprefect

with 2 comments

Picture yourself with a new job at: Oracle

Yes, I can indeed very easily picture myself with a job at Oracle. I hear they are doing some pretty cool stuff around marketing and personalization.

Personalization is difficult. I’ve written before about the uncanny valley where personalized results are so off the mark that they have an adverse effect. The trough of disillusionment where companies pretend to know their customers, but fail to deliver on that promise.

For instance, you would think LinkedIn would know I already work for Oracle.

Written by Lukas Vermeer

June 5, 2012 at 11:17

Posted in Marketing, Meta, Oracle

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry, kind of irrelevant to this post but I just got done getting my butt kicked by your Connect Four Minimax example.I didn’t know where to post a comment for it, but I am very impressed! I am working on the same thing for my clone of Connect 4 and I can’t seem to get the idea implemented into code. Regardless, good job sir!

    • Thanks! And don’t worry, I have trouble beating my own creation also, as do most people I show it to.

      You are not the only person working on this, it seems. I get quite a lot of traffic on this blog related to this.

      If you have any questions that I can help you with, I suggest we continue our discussion here, so that others may also benefit from it.

      Lukas Vermeer

      June 29, 2012 at 09:56


Leave a comment